Coming to grips with childhood trauma

To start a discussion post as a new topic.
punched_by_thoughts
Issues: Anxiety, Depression, Suicidal Ideation
preferred pronoun: he/him

Coming to grips with childhood trauma

Post by punched_by_thoughts »

This week was absolutely exhausting... I've been working with a counselor for 6 months or so and at one point I discussed with him how my mom cleaned my mouth out with soap and spanked me when I was little. He looked at me shocked and I thought about it and said "This is a pretty common consequence for people my age to have dealt with." He looked at me and said, "No, it's not, and even if it was common it's still abuse."

Fast forward about 3 months to this week, and I'm reflecting a lot. First, I've disassociated a lot of my life away as a coping mechanism for stress and trauma because that's how I coped with childhood. I've also realized that since my mom is covertly abusive, it's not very visible to most others, and so it was easy to assume that I was just too sensitive when I was younger, It didn't help that my father was emotionally neglectful.

I am constantly seeking validation and approval as a result, so work has been incredibly crushing because my work employers provide no appreciation to there staff, despite the hard work and effort with put in, and I'm so self-conscious that I keep everything to myself because I feel as though the conversations by fellow staff tend to be shallow.