Therapy pisses me off

Ihavetinnitus_mawp
Issues: Depression, Anxiety, Emotional Neglect, Emotional Abuse, Misophonia
preferred pronoun: She

Therapy pisses me off

Post by Ihavetinnitus_mawp »

If I'm feeling pissed off and defensive in therapy is that a sign we are getting somewhere? I can't stop arguing with and dismissing my therapist's suggestions. I want to just scream, you don't get it, it's not that simple, your interpretation of my situation is reductive, etc. I'm not saying they're fully incorrect but I just feel like they're missing the point. But maybe I'm totally out to lunch and an asshole and I should just do what this stranger who barely knows me says without questioning them. I don't know... Argh.
brownblob
Issues: depression and anxiety
preferred pronoun: whatshisname

Re: Therapy pisses me off

Post by brownblob »

I'm not an expert on therapy, but to me what you feel is natural. You probably need to find someone else, but I think you also need to ask yourself why are you feeling this anger? Are you putting up a wall? Is there a way you can express your feelings constructively to the therapist instead of just bottling up this anger towards them? It is easier to say these things than do them. I kind of struggle with the same kind of feelings sometimes with people.
I don't like people much and they don't much like me. -A Beautiful Mind
I'm Homesick for a home I never had.--Soul Asylum "Homesick"
Ihavetinnitus_mawp