I'm queer, I'm here, and ... ... please don't notice me

Tell us something about yourself. Post as new topic.
bbradle1
Issues: Depression, self-injury, anxiety

I'm queer, I'm here, and ... ... please don't notice me

Post by bbradle1 »

Hello all.

I've been listening to Paul's show for several months now. Maria Bamford is one of my personal heroes, and I found the podcast through the episode she was a guest on.

I'm in my later 20's, work as a librarian, and still in school (almost done... almost done...). I came out for the first time a couple years ago, I think I must have been 24 at the time which I'm kind of self-conscious about, but whatever. I was in a the middle of some kind of major depressive episode, and I came out to my roommate. I was having a hard time not being a mess, so my roommate was pissed about me always leaving my stuff in the shared living-room, so I guess I thought if I came out it would make things better? I'm not sure it actually fixed that, but I found that it actually kinda felt good to come out, so I started coming out to my friends which was nice. I'm not out to my family, but not so much because I'm scared they won't accept me but rather that we're just an Irish-American family that doesn't talk about stuff like that. Or, as my therapist says after a session talking about my relationship with my mom, "NO WONDER YOU HAVEN'T TOLD HER YOU'RE GAY!"